Why August?

I started this blog over a year ago (Aug 8 was the first post). Managed to eek in one more post, and then promptly forgot about it for a year. A lot changed in that time….

But, again in August that I got the tingle to blog again? I thought, Why? After pondering…. I realized a lot happens in the summer that I wish I could have shared. With the end of summer, and fall around the corner, I realize I don’t have much time left this year to write/share anything from the outdoors. But that’s not really true either.

Maybe it’s because August signals the beginning of my second favorite season: Fall! (My favorite season being spring). Sunflowers and golden-rods all hint at the bright yellow and orange hues our trees will be showing in just another few months. In August, even the Sourwoods start turning red, a precursor to other fall colors.

Whatever it is, I am back to blogging and may have more opportunities and reasons now to keep it up! Last year, when I started the blog, I was working for an Environmental Consulting firm (Not as exciting as it sounds). I did Computer Assisted Drawing, and soil/groundwater sampling. My outdoor office was gas stations, chemical plants, NC DOT asphalt plants, etc. Not very ‘natural’. I kept the blog then to remind myself to look outside and enjoy the area I live in….. which I did!

But NOW! I told you things had changed since my last post. Back in February, I started a job with the Catawba Lands Conservancy! Now, at least once or twice a week I get to explore some truly fascinating places in the Piedmont/Foothills of North Carolina. I’ve been busy, as a friend put it, “going on nature walks while taking notes”! It’s actually far more than that, but a good starter explanation.

In the meantime, I have taken plenty of photos and will continue to do so…. seen some truly spectacular tracts of land… met the best people in the region, and even discovered new populations of rare plants!

Now, have a far better reason to keep-up with this blog.

One thought on “Why August?

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑